The All-NBA Team Features Usual Suspects And Breakout Talent

The 2016-17 All-NBA First Team has been announced and it was no surprise to anyone that Houston Rockets guard James Harden was a unanimous first team selection with 500 points. He was the only player named First Team on all 100 ballots, earning his third such distinction in four years.

LeBron James was next points wise, garnering 498 points and 99 First Team votes. He joints Kobe Bryant and Karl Malone as the only players in NBA history to make the All-NBA First Team 11 times.

Oklahoma City’s living, leaping livewire Russell Westbrook had the same number of votes and points as Lebron James. San Antonio Spurs SF Kawhi Leonard received 96 First Team votes and got 490 points.

New Orleans center Anthony Davis, aka The Unibrow, rounded out the First Team with 45 First Team votes, 343 points. Golden State Warriors point guard Stephen Curry leads the All-NBA Second Team with his fourth All-NBA selection.

He is joined by teammate Kevin Durant on the Second Team, his seventh such selection. Milwaukee Buck’s forward Giannis Antetokounmpo aka the Greek Freak was rewarded for a stellar season with a Second Team selection, his first. Utah Center Rudy Gobert and Boston Celtics guard Isaiah Thomas round out the Second Team, each earning their first All-NBA Selection.

Jimmy Butler of the Chicago Bulls and Draymond Green of the Warriors, guards DeMar DeRozan of the Toronto Raptors, John Wall of the Washington Wizards and center DeAndre Jordan of the LA Clippers comprise the Third Team.

Somewhat surprisingly, it was the first time that Butler, DeRozan and Wall were named All-NBA. It was Green’s second time and Jordan’s third All-NBA honor.

The remaining NBA award winners will be revealed during the first ever NBA Awards on TNT on Monday, June 26 at Basketball City in New York.

The finalists for NBA Most Valuable Player, Kia NBA Rookie of the Year, Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year, Kia NBA Sixth Man Award, Kia NBA Most Improved Player and NBA Coach of the Year awards will be unveiled during a special 90-minute edition of TNTs NBA Tip-Off on Friday, May 19 at 7 p.m. ET.

Back to top