Terrell Owens Declines Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony Invite

Former NFL wide receiver Terrell Owens announced on Thursday he declined to attend the 2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame ceremony in Canton, Ohio.

Owens publicly tweeted out his official statement via Twitter.

Terrell Owens on Twitter

Sincerely, #81

Hall of Fame President and CEO David Baker released a statement following the announcement, via Pro Football Talk’s Michael David Smith.

“We are disappointed but will respect Terrell’s decision not to participate in the enshrinement,” he said. “While unprecedented, the Pro Football Hall of Fame, the nearly 5,000 volunteers and the entire community are committed to celebrating the excellence of the class of 2018 that will kick off the NFL’s 99th season.”

Owens will be added into the 2018 HOF class alongside Bobby Beathard, Brian Dawkins, Robert Brazile, Jerry Kramer, Randy Moss, Ray Lewis and Brian Urlacher.

2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame Class Announced! | 2018 NFL Honors

Randy Moss, Brian Urlacher, Jerry Kramer, Robert Brazile, Brian Dawkins, and Ray Lewis are all members of the 2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Erin Ashey Simon is a writer, producer, host and contributor for The Shadow League. Host of Cheddar Esports and Grass Routes Podcast, a former college athlete who passes the time playing flag football. Simon has previous work experience at Cycle Media, REVOLT TV, The Wall Street Journal, and more. Originally from New Jersey, Simon graduated from the University of Kentucky.