Russell Westbrook Named The NBA’s MVP

Oklahoma City Thunder point guard Russell Westbrook was named the 2016-2017 Most Valuable Player on Monday evening at the NBA’s inaugural awards show.

Westbrook’s season was historic, be only the second player ever, and first since Oscar Robertson in 1962, to average a triple-double. Westbrook also broke Robertson’s record for most triple-doubles in a season with 42.

Best Plays of Russell Westbrook’s Historic 2016-2017 Season

Check out Russell Westbrook’s best plays from this season!

He led the league in scoring with 31.6 points per game, was third in assists with 10.4 and tenth in rebounds, snagging 10.7 per game.

Here were the other awards that were handed out:

Defensive Player of the Year
Winner: Draymond Green, Golden State Warriors
Other finalists: Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz; Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio Spurs

Coach of the Year
Winner: Mike D’Antoni, Houston Rockets
Other finalists: Gregg Popovich, San Antonio Spurs; Erik Spoelstra, Miami Heat

Most Improved Player
Winner: Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks
Other finalists: Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz; Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets

Sixth Man Award
Winner: Eric Gordon, Houston Rockets
Other finalists: Andre Iguodala, Golden State Warriors; Lou Williams, Houston Rockets

Rookie of the Year
Winner: Malcolm Brogdon, Milwaukee Bucks
Other finalists: Joel Embiid, Philadelphia 76ers; Dario Saric, Philadelphia 76ers

Additional Awards

Sager Strong Award
Winner: Monty Williams, San Antonio Spurs

NBA Lifetime Achievement Award
Winner: Bill Russell, Boston Celtics

NBA Sportsmanship Award
Winner: Kemba Walker, Charlotte Hornets

NBA Cares Community Assist Award
Winner: Isaiah Thomas, Boston Celtics

NBA Hustle Award
Winner: Patrick Beverley, Houston Rockets

Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year
Winner: Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks

Executive of the Year
Winner: Bob Myers, Golden State Warriors

Fan Awards

Assist of the Year
Winner: Draymond Green and Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors | Watch
Other finalists: Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets; Chris Paul, LA Clippers

Block of the Year
Winner: Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio Spurs | Watch
Other finalists: Hassan Whiteside, Miami Heat; Kristaps Porzingis, New York Knicks

Dunk of the Year
Winner: Victor Oladipo, Oklahoma City Thunder | Watch
Other finalists: Larry Nance Jr., Los Angeles Lakers; Zach LaVine, Minnesota Timberwolves

Game Winner of the Year
Winner: Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder | Watch
Other finalists: Tyler Ulis, Phoenix Suns; Kyrie Irving, Cleveland Cavaliers

Performance of the Year
Best single-game performance in the regular season
Winner: Klay Thompson, Golden State Warriors | Watch
Other finalists: James Harden, Houston Rockets; Devin Booker, Phoenix Suns; Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder

Best Playoff Moment
Winner: Kevin Durant, Golden State Warriors | Watch
Other finalists: Isaiah Thomas, Boston Celtics; John Wall, Washington Wizards

Best Style
Winner: Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder
Other finalists: Dwyane Wade, Miami Heat; Iman Shumpert, Cleveland Cavaliers