Mookie Betts Starts His MLB Award Tour With 2nd Straight Gold Glove

Boston’s Black Knight racks up the first of many accolades due to him from 2018.

MLB really promotes the home run during the regular season, but as we saw in the playoffs, defensive gems are just as valuable as the long ball. The 2018 Gold Glove winners were announced Sunday, handing out hardware to the best defensive players in baseball and the World Champion Red Sox have three 2018 Gold Glovers, led by right fielder Mookie Betts who should be receiving his MVP Award soon as well.

Centerfield wizard Jackie Bradley Jr and second baseman Ian Kinsler also took home Gold Gloves. It’s unlikely that a squad is winning a World Series title without having a few Gold Glove winners.

Overall, 12 out of 19 awards came from players on playoff teams.

Here is the full list of winners:

National League

P: Zack Greinke, Arizona Diamondbacks

C: Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals

1B: Freddie Freeman, Atlanta Braves/Anthony Rizzo, Chicago Cubs

2B: DJ LeMahieu, Colorado Rockies

3B: Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies

SS: Nick Ahmed, Arizona Diamondbacks

LF: Corey Dickerson, Pittsburgh Pirates

CF: Ender Inciarte, Atlanta Braves

RF: Nick Markakis, Atlanta Braves

American League

P: Dallas Keuchel, Houston Astros

C: Salvador Perez, Kansas City Royals

1B: Matt Olson, Oakland Athletics

2B: Ian Kinsler, Boston Red Sox

3B: Matt Chapman, Oakland Athletics

SS: Andrelton Simmons, Los Angeles Angels

LF: Alex Gordon, Kansas City Royals

CF: Jackie Bradley Jr., Boston Red Sox

RF: Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox

Betts has no real competition for AL MVP and in the NL, the favorite is Colorado third baseman Nolan Arenado, who won his sixth straight Gold Glove. Boston’s success and Betts’ all-around greatness, which included a rare 30-30 season makes him the baseball’s most impactful player this season.

When Betts receives his long overdue MVP award, he will become the first African-American American League player to win the MVP since young Ken Griffey Jr. did it for the Seattle Mariners in 1997.

JR Gamble joined The Shadow League in 2012. The General Manager of Content & Social Media is in his 25th year of covering sports and culture professionally. He has covered a wide variety of major sports and entertainment topics across different mediums, including radio, newspapers, magazines and national TV. His passion is baseball, the culturing of baseball and preserving and documenting the historically-impactful accomplishments and contributions of African-Americans in baseball.