John R. Wooden Award All-American Team announced

Yesterday the Los Angeles Athletic Club announced the 2016 John R. Wooden Award All-Americans.

The team, selected by approximately 1,000 national college basketball media members and the Awards former winners, consists of ten student-athletes who were the top vote-getters in the battle to earn the award as the nation’s best player in college basketball.  

In alphabetical order, the ten-player team consists of: Grayson Allen (Duke), Malcolm Brogdon (Virginia), Kris Dunn (Providence), Perry Ellis (Kansas), Yogi Ferrell (Indiana), Buddy Hield (Oklahoma), Brice Johnson (North Carolina), Georges Niang (Iowa State), Tyler Ulis (Kentucky), and Denzel Valentine (Michigan State). 

Also receiving an award will be Texas Tech Head CoachTubby Smith, who was named the 2016 Wooden Award Legends of Coaching Trophy.

For the full story, read here.

About the award:

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award program features the most prestigious individual honors in college basketball. The Wooden Award Trophy is bestowed annually upon the nations best male and female player who have been certified by their universities as meeting the criteria of the award.

Back to top