Joe Maddon, Jeff Banister win MLB Manager of the Year Awards

Chicago Cubs skipper Joe Maddon won the National League Manager of the Year, after guiding the Cubs to 97 wins and a NLCS appearance in his first season at the helm. Maddox’s third Manager of the Year award puts him in elite company, as only two managers (Bobby Cox and Tony La Russa) have won more. 

Texas Rangers manager Jeff Bannister won the American League honor after leading his team to an unexpected AL West title, following a lackluster first half of the season in which they had a losing record and the loss of their ace pitcher Yu Darvish.

Back to top