Favre, Owens Among 25 Semifinalists for 2016 Pro Football Hall of Fame

The NFL announced that they’ve reduced the list of 108 Pro Football Hall of Fame nominees to 25 semifinalists, which features first-time candidates Brett Favre, Terrell Owens and Alan Faneca.

Fifteen of the the modern-era candidates will be chosen as finalists by the NFL in January. Only five of them will be elected into the Hall of Fame Class of ’16, which will be announced on the eve of Super Bowl 50.

While Brett Favre is a complete lock as a first-ballot Hall of Famer, it will be intriguing to see who claims the other four spots, especially in regards to the wide receivers. There are several worthy candidates at the position, most notably T.O., but there have been doubts about his chances of being voted in ahead of Marvin Harrison.  

Here is the complete list of semifinalists:

1. Morten Andersen

2. Steve Atwater

3. Tony Boselli

4. Isaac Bruce

5. Don Coryell

6. Roger Craig

7. Terrell Davis

8. Tony Dungy

9. Alan Faneca

10. Brett Favre

11. Kevin Greene

12. Marvin Harrison

13. Torry Holt

14. Joe Jacoby

15. Edgerrin James

16. Jimmy Johnson

17. Mike Kenn

18. Ty Law

19. John Lynch

20. Kevin Mawae

21. Karl Mecklenburg

22. Sam Mills

23. Terrell Owens

24. Orlando Pace

25. Kurt Warner

Back to top