Black College Football HOF Announces Class Of 2019 Finalists

Founded in 2009, the Black College Football Hall of Fame has featured some of the greatest players in college and Pro Football history. This week they revealed the 25 Finalists for induction into their Class of 2019, a list which includes 22 players and three coaches.

Green Bay Packers WR Donald Driver, San Francisco 49ers WR John Taylor and Indianapolis Colts DE, Robert Mathis, are among the 25 finalists.

Donald Driver Tribute

My tribute to Green Bay Packers legend Donald Driver! #80 Wide Receiver 1999-2012

The Finalists were selected from a field of over 150 nominees by a 12-member Selection Committee composed of prominent journalists, commentators, historians former NFL General Managers and football executives.

We congratulate the Finalists for the Class of 2019, said James Shack Harris, Black College Football Co-Founder and 2012 Inductee. Each of these Finalists made a significant impact on the game of football, both in college and the professional ranks.

The hands and concentration of John Taylor

Taylor catches passes from 3 different Quarterbacks. This footage is the property of the NFL and CBS, NBC and ABC sports and besides it’s entertainment value, is being used to discuss the merits of whether or not John Taylor should be elected to the Hall Of Fame.

The committee will meet again in the coming weeks to select the six members (five players and one coach) who will be inducted into the Black College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019.

The talent that has come from Black College Football programs is incredible, said Committee Chairman Roscoe Nance, “and that makes selecting the honorees incredibly difficult. Thanks to our Selection Committee for its dedication and commitment and for the tremendous amount time and effort that the members put into making these decisions.

Robert Mathis Career Retirement Tribute

I do not own any of the content in this video. All rights belong to the NFL and its broadcaster: CBS Sports, ESPN, FOX Sports, and NBC. These videos are for entertainment purposes only and I do not make any profit from these videos.

This years inductees will be announced on October 25, 2018. They will be honored during the Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on February 16, 2019, in Atlanta, Georgia. 


 Joe 747 Adams (QB, Tennessee State University, 1977-1980)

 Coy Bacon (DL, Jackson State University, 1964-1967)

 Dwaine Board (DE, North Carolina A&T State University, 1975-1978)

 Emerson Boozer (RB, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, 1962-1965)

 Greg Coleman (P, Florida A&M University, 1972-1975)

 Kevin Dent (S, Jackson State University, 1985-1988)

 Hugh Douglas (DE, Central State University, 1991-1994)

 Donald Driver (WR, Alcorn State University, 1995-1998)

 Earl Air Harvey (QB, North Carolina Central University, 1985-1988)

 James Hunter (DB, Grambling State University, 1972-1975)

 Richard Tombstone Jackson (DE, Southern University, 1962-1965)

 Henry Lawrence (OL, Florida A&M University, 1970-1973)

 Frank Lewis (WR, Grambling State University, 1967-1970)

 Robert Mathis (LB, Alabama A&M University, 1999-2002)

 Tyrone McGriff (OL, Florida A&M University, 1976-1979)

 John Big Train Moody (RB, Morris Brown College, 1939-1941)

 Timmy Newsome (RB/KR, Winston Salem State University, 1976-1979)

 Nate Newton (OL, Florida A&M University, 1979-1982)

 John Taylor (WR, Delaware State University, 1982-1985)

 Johnny Walton (QB, Elizabeth City State University, 1965-1968)

 Erik Williams (OL, Central State University, 1987-1990)

 Roynell Young (DB, Alcorn State University, 1976-1979)



 Willard Bailey (Head Football Coach, Virginia Union 1971-1983 and 1995-2003; Norfolk State 1984-1992; St. Pauls 2005-2010; Virginia-Lynchburg 2011-2013)

 Arnett Ace Mumford (Head Football Coach, Jarvis Christian 1924-1926; Bishop College 1927-1929; Texas College 1931-1935; Southern University 1936-1961)

Joe Taylor (Howard University 1983; Virginia Union 1984-1991; Hampton University 1992-2007; Florida A&M University 2008-2012)

Back to top