World Series Home-Field Advantage Will Go To The Team With The Best Record

Starting next season, home-field advantage in the World Series will no longer be determined by the winner of the MLB All Star Game.

The change, first reported by the Associated Press, will reportedly be part of the tentative new collective bargaining agreement to be announced today.

Home-field advantage will now be determined by the pennant winner with the better regular season record.The rule change will disrupt the 14-year tradition that began during the 2003 season.

The 2002 All Star Game ended in a 7-7 tie in the 11th inning after both the American League and National League ran out of pitchers, prompting then-MLB commissioner Bud Selig to add a new meaning to the Midsummer Classic. The following year, the winner of the game was to be rewarded with home-field advantage in the World Series in an effort to make the All Star Game more competitive.

MLB owners approved of the change with a 30-0 vote in January of 2003. The rule was initially supposed to be a two-year experiment but was later extended. Prior to the 2003 season, home-field advantage alternated between the two leagues.

The American League has dominated the All Star Game since the initial change was made, winning 11 of 14 contests. The National League, however, has won eight of these 14 possible World Series.

Players selected to the MLB All Star Game next year will instead have the incentive of playing for a pool of money to be divided among the winners. 

Back to top