The Big Unit, Pedro, Smoltz And Biggio Enter The Baseball Hall Of Fame

Yesterday it was announced that Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz and Craig Biggio had been voted into the baseball Hall Of Fame by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Needing 75% of the vote to be elected, the four players were elected by the following percentages:

Johnson        97.3%

Martinez        91.1%

Smoltz          82.9%

Biggio           82.7%

Johnson had a career record of 303-166, with an ERA of 3.29, and won five Cy Young awards.

Martinez had a career record of 219-100 with an ERA of 2.93 and won three Cy Youngs.

Smoltz, the only player with more than 200 wins and 150 saves, had a career record of 213-155 with an ERA 3.33.

Biggio, the only non-pitcher to be elected, had a .281 batting average and was fifth in all time doubles with 668.

Some notable names who missed out on being elected were Mike Piazza, Barry Bonds Jeff Bagwell and Tim Raines. 

For more on the the voting, and to see the player reactions, read here


Back to top