Revis Island, Ronde Barber Lockdown Hall of Fame Inductions | Devin Hester, Tory Holt Among Head-Scratching Snubs

The NFL Honors ceremony took place Thursday night, and the 2023 Pro Football Hall of Fame class was introduced. Darrelle Revis, Ronde Barber, and Demarcus Ware were among the most recognizable inductees. They were also a few names that didn’t get the Hall of Fame nod that left NFL fans puzzled.


Darrelle Revis, CB (2007-17): He is most noted for the nickname “Revis Island” that caught fire after his 2009 Defensive Player of the Year season. He gave up no 100-yard games with the New York Jets that season and locked up some of the best receivers to ever play in his era, like: Chad Johnson (twice), Randy Moss (twice), Terrell Owens, Andre Johnson, and Steve Smith.


Joe Thomas, OL (2007-17): Thomas is considered as one of the greatest left tackles in NFL history. He went to ten consecutive Pro Bowls, is part of the 2010s All-Decade team, and played in 167 games with 10,363 consecutive snaps, all with the Cleveland Browns.

Zach Thomas, LB (1996-08): He racked up over 1,734 tackles, 20.5 sacks, 17 interceptions, four pick-six touchdowns, 16 forced fumbles, and eight fumble recoveries in his career. Thomas played 12 seasons with the Miami Dolphins before moving to the Dallas Cowboys for his 13th and final season in 2008.

Demarcus Ware, LB (2005-16): Ware has helped pave the way for linebackers like Micah Parsons to rush the passer and be a hybrid linebacker that rushes the passer more than playing a traditional linebacker role. He racked up over 138.5 sacks in his 12-year career with the Cowboys and Broncos. He also helped the Broncos win Super Bowl 50 before he retired.

Ronde Barber, CB (1997-12): Barber’s pick-six in the NFC title game win over the Eagles in 2002 is arguably one of the greatest plays in Buccaneers franchise history. He helped them win the Super Bowl in 2002 and is inducted into the Buccaneers Ring of Honor.

Joe Klecko, DL (1977-88): Klecko is considered one of the most versatile defensive linemen in NFL history. He earned Pro-Bowl selections at defensive tackle, nose tackle, and defensive end over 11 seasons with the Jets before closing his career by playing the 1988 seasons with the Indianapolis Colts.

Chuck Howley, LB (1958-73): He is the only Super Bowl MVP in NFL history from a losing team. He lost to the Colts 16-13 as a member of the Cowboys in Super Bowl V and picked off two passes in that game. He helped avenge that loss in Super Bowl VI as they defeated the Dolphins to win the franchise’s first title.

Ken Riley, CB (1970-83): Riley has 65 career interceptions as a member of the Bengals. He joins Anthony Munoz as the only other Hall of Fame member of the organization.

Don Coryell: He is the architect of the “Air Coryell” offense that helped modernize the modern passing game. He guided the Cardinals to three consecutive 10-win seasons and Chargers to four straight playoff appearances.

Notable Snubs

Devin Hester is the only player in NFL history to return the opening kickoff back for a touchdown. He has the most non-offensive touchdowns in NFL history (20), most kickoff and punt returns touchdowns (19), most returns in NFL history (14), and most punt returns in a NFL season (4).

Tory Holt caught 920 passes for 13,382 receiving yards and 74 touchdowns in his 11-year career, the first 10 with the St. Louis Rams and the final one with the Jacksonville Jaguars. He is a member of the 2000s All-Decade team and a Super Bowl Champion. He is also ranked 17th of the all-time receiving list.

Patrick Willis didn’t have a long career, but made an impact over his eight seasons in the NFL, all with the San Francisco 49ers. He was the 2007 Defensive Rookie of the Year, member of 2010s All-Decade team, and led the NFL twice in total tackles.

Other notable snubs are: Cowboys safety Darren Woodson, Texans wide receiver Andre Johnson, defensive end Dwight Freeney, and longtime Colts wide receiver Reggie Wayne.

What people are saying

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top