NFL’s 2016 Hall of Fame Class Announced

Tonight the NFL revealed its 2016 Hall of Fame class.

Entering the halls of Canton are Brett Favre, Marvin Harrison, Kevin Greene, Orlando Pace, Ken Stabler, Dick Stanfel, Eddie DeBartolo and Tony Dungy. Favre was no surprise and NFL fans have to be excited to see a wide receiver get recognized, especially Marvin Harrison. 

Harrison, a first round draft pick by the Colts out of Syracuse in 1996, had eight straight years with 1,000-plus yards receiving and 10 or more touchdowns. His record breaking season occurred in 2002 when he destroyed the NFL single-season record for receptions (143) and had a career-high 1,722 yards and 11 TDs. He was an Eight-time Pro Bowl selection and finished second to Jerry Rice in career receptions, most consecutive games with a reception (190) and most career 100-yard games (59). His yardage total ranked him fourth all-time and career TDs (128) ninth on all-time list at time of his retirement.

Favre was a no brainer for the Hall but his announcement still choked up the legendary QB who holds almost every position record. 

It’s an incredible feeling. It really is,” Favre said at NFL Honors. “I’m well aware of my career and what I’ve done, but it never I don’t know how to put this. I’ve accepted it for what it is, but Roger Staubach comes up on stage and I still get goosebumps. That’s my childhood hero. Dallas Cowboys were my team. Last night in the hotel, Ed Too Tall’ Jones comes up and says hello, and I’m like, He’s actually talking to me?’ That’s how I feel, and I guess what I’m saying is that I’m extremely thankful that I’m part of the group, but I don’t necessarily feel like part of the group, and I mean that with the utmost respect.”

For the full story, read here.

Back to top