AAFCA Names 12 Years a Slave As Top Film of 2013

The African American Film Critics Association has named 12 Years a Slave as its top film of 2013. The FOX Searchlight offering also earned the organization's nod for Best Director and Best Screenplay. The awards for Best Newcomer went to director Steve McQueen, John Ridley and Lupita Nyong'o. Forest Whitaker got the nod for Best Actor.

 The AAFCA, comprised of the top African American film critics from across the nation, will formally present the awards during a private ceremony in Los Angeles, on Jan. 31, 2014, at an affair hosted by comedian Orlando Jones.  A complete list of all the honorees, as well as the AAFCA's Top Ten Films of 2013, are below.

1. 12 Years a Slave
2. Lee Daniels: The Butler
3. Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom
4. American Hustle
5. Gravity
6. Fruitvale Station
7. Dallas Buyers Club
8. Saving Mr. Banks
9. Out of the Furnace
10. 42

Best Actor Forest Whitaker, Lee Daniels: The Butler (TWC)
Best Actress Sandra Bullock, Gravity (Warner Bros.)
Best Supporting Actress Oprah Winfrey, Lee Daniels: The Butler (TWC)
Best Supporting Actor Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club (Focus Features)
Best World Cinema Mother of George (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
Breakout Performance Lupita Nyong'o, 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight)
Best Director Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight)
Best Screenplay John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight)
Best Music Raphael Sadiq, Black Nativity (RCA Inspirational)
Best Independent Film Fruitvale Station (TWC)
Best Animation Frozen (Walt Disney Pictures)
Best Documentary American Promise (Rada Film Group)


Back to top